Sondi Sodsai

Album Title: Sondi

Artist(s): Sondi Sodsai

Year: 2008

Label: Toshiba/EMI

Country: Japan

Genre(s): Exotica, Novelty

Format(s): Compact Disc

Availability: Import, Out of Print, Very Rare

Track Listing:

  1. Sondi
  2. Rose, Rose, I Love You
  3. Budda Knows
  4. China Nights (Shinya No Yoru)
  5. Siamese Cat Song
  6. Love Dance
  7. Burma Train
  8. Buffalo Song
  9. Bali Hai
  10. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
  11. Song of India
  12. Japanese Farewell Song (Sayonara)


This album has been described as a tongue-in-cheek portrayal of Asian stereotypes.  I guess it very well could be.  I'm sure an album like this would be more hard pressed to see the light of day in today's more PC world.  Sondi, who is from Thailand, does a very thick accented album of what someone in the 50's might "expect" to hear in the Orient.  The LP is a collector's prize and this release, in Japan only, is now out of print and exceptionally rare.  The sound quality is excellent and from the master tapes.  Outstanding track is Sondi's version of the Siamese Cat song from the Disney film "Aristocats."  Extensice liner notes, all in Japanese though.

Sample Track: 01 Sondai

Comments are closed.