Sound of Tiki

Various Artists

Album Title: Sound of Tiki

Artist(s): Various Artists

Year: 2010

Label: Bear Family

Country: Germany

Genre(s): Exotica

Format(s): Compact Disc

Availability: Still in Print, Limited Availability

Track Listing:

  1. Taboo Tu - Arthur Luman
  2. Aku Aku (with live intro) - Martin Denny
  3. Bali Hai - Gloria Lynne
  4. Bird of Paradise - Les Baxter
  5. Castaway - Paul Page
  6. Tiki - Martin Denny & Si Zenter
  7. House of Bamboo (Andy Williams)
  8. Kon-Tiki - The Shadows
  9. I-Ha-She - Marias & Miranda
  10. Hawaiian Eye - Buddy Morrow
  11. Hilo Boy - The Mary Kaye Trio
  12. Ulili E - The Surfers
  13. Pieces of Eight - Paul Page
  14. Full Moon - Eden Ahbez
  15. Bamboo - The Surfmen
  16. Hawaii 5-0/Quiet Village - Don Ho
  17. Luau Is Calling You (radio jingle)


Produced by "Book of Tiki" author, Sven Kirsten, this compilation features a smattering of tiki tunes--some previously released, some not.  The outstanding tracks are two uber rare Paul Page tracks.  The rather high price is offset by the amazing booklet with tons of photos, vintage tiki art and extremely detailed track information.  The booklet is almost like the lost chapter from the "Book of Tiki."

Sample Track: 05 Castaway

Comments are closed.